Webinar: Advancing Theory with Review Articles

Webinar: Advancing Theory with Review Articles

Speakers: Professor Caroline Gatrell and Professor John E. Prescott

The purpose of this webinar is to propose a multi‐faceted approach for fashioning theoretical contributions in review articles, which we hope will inspire more authors to develop and submit innovative, original, and high‐quality theory‐building review articles. We argue that advancing theory with review articles requires an integrative and generative approach. We propose a non‐exhaustive set of avenues for developing theory with a review article: exposing emerging perspectives, analyzing assumptions, clarifying constructs, establishing boundary conditions, testing new theory, theorizing with systems theory, and theorizing with mechanisms.

Time: Thursday, 29th of April at 10am (U.S. Eastern) / 3pm (London) / 7.30pm (Delhi). This webinar is scheduled for 90 minutes (including Q&A).

Registration : Please register here to receive a personalized Zoom link and a reminder for this event.

Recommended reading: Post, C., Sarala, R., Gatrell, C. and Prescott, J.E. (2020), Advancing Theory with Review Articles. Journal of Management Studies, 57: 351-376. https://doi.org/10.1111/joms.12549

Speakers:
Caroline Gatrell, Professor of Organization Studies, University of Liverpool
John E. Prescott, Thomas O’Brien Chair of Strategy, University of Pittsburgh

If you have any questions, please contact Ibrat Djabbarov: i.djabbarov@cranfield.ac.uk.